My AP Calculus class has abandoned me today…

…for an AP English field trip to the UGA library!  Tells me a lot about their priorities, doesn’t it?

Actually, I have great memories of the UGA library.  Our library in Jefferson was tiny when I was a child, and at one point, being the bookworm that I am, I had basically read every book in its juvenile section.  My sister was  a UGA student at the time, and one day she took me to the UGA library.  I was both excited and overwhelmed.  On the one hand, I knew that I was never going to run out of books to read!  On the other hand,  I knew there was no way I was ever going to be able to read ALL of those books!

Later on, in high school and college,  I spent many an hour in that building researching such interesting topics as Ralph Waldo Emerson’s view of God, man, and self, and the symbolism of the old white horse in T.S. Eliot’s “Journey of the Magi”. I eventually found the Science library at UGA.  Now THAT is a library.  There is an entire floor of the building dedicated to mathematics.  But, I digress…

Here’s the deal:  the first person in our class to e-mail/send/communicate the correct answer to problem #1 below will receive ten extra-credit points added to the next test.  The second person will receive nine points, the third person four, and so on.  I must receive the correct answer before 3:15 P.M. today.

#1  The integral of f(x) = x²+ 5 with respect to x from 0 (that’s a zero, btw) to b = 30.  Find the value of b correct to three decimal places.  (You did take your calculator with you today, didn’t you?  And, is there more than one possible value for b?)

#2  This is available for all, regardless of who gives it to me first.  Somewhere in that glorious building are copies of the periodical Mathematics Teacher.  In each issue, the publishers provide a calendar with a “problem of the day” for each day in the month.  Find a problem (with solution) that you think would be a good problem for me to give students in either Euclidean Geometry or Precalculus as part of their preparation for AP Calculus.  Along with your solution, write one or two sentences that explain why you chose that particular problem.  Problem #2 is worth 10 extra-credit points, and the deadline is also 3:15 P.M. today.

Leave a Reply

